Pat’s Steaks

I recently went to Philadelphia with the track team that I coach and I took the athletes to have Philly cheesesteaks at Pat’s Steaks after they ran, a must visit when anywhere in the Philly area. The kids that have been lucky enough to go back to back years remember this experience more then the fact that they ran at one of the most prestigious track meets in the US, they share with their fellow athletes that they went to Pat’s Steaks in Philly!!! They stand on line, no matter what time of day it is, and study how to order their cheessteak from the first window (with or without onions, cheese whiz, american, or provolone cheese)….they place their order and then go to the next window for fries and drink…and then proceed to sit down and take a bite out of a true Philly experience. I have been blessed with this tradition since my high school track coach took me when I ran at this same meet and like the athletes that I take there now, it was all I could talk about when the other athletes would ask how my trip to Penn Relays was…the first thing that I would talk about was not the crowd or 20,000 fans that would cheer on all the athletes, but my experience at Pat’s Steaks where I would sit with my coaches and other members of the team and talk about whatever came to mind. The common denominator was that we were all experiencing a true Philly experience that I would remember for a lifetime. On Thursday when I had my cheesesteak, it tasted as good as it did 30 years ago when I ran there as an athlete. And I wathched as my athletes and coaches shared experiences of their run, missing school that day. meets that are on the horizon and most importantly, how good these cheesesteaks really are!!! Until next time…

2 thoughts on “Pat’s Steaks

  1. Philly cheeses steaks are a big hit in my house. I am going to Philadelphia this summer. I will definitely make a stop at Pat’s Steaks. Thanks for the tip!

  2. So true, the kids like the traditions and like you, will remember going there for years. It is all about the bonding and what happens off the field that will make them grow into great adults. My daughter played field hockey in HS and they had a tradition of Psych parties before every game. They spent time together breaking bread, eating cookies and that is where they became a team. It didn’t hurt they won a lot. Before the state tournament every year they had a bonfire at teachers house and they still talk about it. They sang and roasted marshmallows. Oh when life was simple. But you can’t take away those memories.

Leave a Reply

